Thursday, April 13th, 2017

Oregon State of Nursing Licensure Certification Application and Renewal

December 8, 2010 by  
Filed under Oregon

Oregon State Board of Nursing Licensure Certification General Information
Please Note
If you held an Oregon nursing license / certificate in the past, call the Oregon State Board of Nursing (OSBN) office and ask for information about Reactivation.

Application
Apply for licensure/certification well in advance of employment in Oregon. In some cases, it can take several weeks for information from schools and other agencies to arrive for processing. If you meet the requirements for licensure/certification, your license will be issued approximately five business days after we have reviewed all of the required information and have determined eligibility.

The OSBN may deny licensure/certification to an applicant convicted of certain crimes. If you have a criminal history, you will need to report it on your application and attach explanatory information on a separate sheet of paper. Falsifying an application, supplying misleading information or withholding information is grounds for denial or revocation of licensure/certification. A positive criminal record check will require investigation and may delay processing. Practicing before you are licensed/certified may result in a civil penalty.

Your license/certification will be issued using the name on the initial application. If you change your name before or after issue, submit legal documentation of your name change.

Your mailing address must be complete and current with the board at all times.

Fees
Fees are non-refundable and processed on receipt. Even if you do not complete the application process or do not qualify for licensure/certification, the fee is not refundable. The fee pays for processing the application and, if you are eligible, issuing the license/certificate.

A canceled check is your receipt and notification that the OSBN has received the application.

Renewal
Oregon uses a biennial birth date renewal system. When you receive your license/certificate, please note the expiration date. The expiration date is the midnight before your birthday in an odd year if you were born in an odd year or in an even year if you were born in an even year. Because of this, your first license/certificate may be valid anywhere from 60 days to two years and 59 days depending upon when you were born and when your application is complete. After that, if
renewed on schedule, your license/certificate is good for two years.

Your license is valid until the expiration date noted on the OSBN License Verification system at http://www.oregon.gov/OSBN. There is no grace period permitting practice beyond this expiration date. You will renew all licenses/certificates simultaneously.

Notify the OSBN in writing when you change your address to prevent delays in receiving your renewal notice. The post office does not routinely forward the Oregon State Board of Nursing mail.